US tourists prohibited to enter the European Union

US Travelers Are Set To Remain Banned From Entering US

European Union has announced its plan to reopen the external border from July 1st allowing some travelers in, first time after the closure due to pandemic. As the spread of coronavirus continues in the United State, Americans are to remain banned from entering the European Union.

In the midst of Coronavirus, some European countries are ready to open up for tourists, while others are wary of the continued spread of the virus. EU ambassadors have decided to keep US visitors barred in order to control the spread of Coronavirus.

In an attempt to save the European tourism season, authorities of 27 member states have agreed on a list of 15 countries from which people will be allowed into the EU as of 1st July.

Precautionary Measures Taken by Airlines

European nations are haggling over two possible lists of appropriate visitors based on how the coronavirus pandemic is being handled in the countries. Both the lists include China, and developing nations such as Uganda, Cuba, and Vietnam but exclude Russia, Brazil and the US. The list will be updated every two weeks by travel advisory and EU state member. They will exempt the US and other countries considered too dangerous due to the spread of the virus.

Travelers from China will be among those permitted entry, despite concerns about the quality of the information coming from the region, like Beijing. Travelers from Russia, Brazil, India and the USA, where infection rates remain high, are likely to remain excluded in keeping the tourism industry alive following any EU policy.

Yet as a result of the pandemic, European commission had urged member state not to allow non-essential travel from outside European Union except for repatriation of nationals stranded abroad.

Despite leaving the EU on January 31, the United Kingdom was considered as a member state because it remains a part of the single market of the bloc. Although Brussels was keen to cooperate with the British government, Downing Street was not interested in the EU’s internal negotiations and the decisions of the bloc are not legally binding on who should move to the bloc.

Fly When You Are Ready- Check Out Our Flexi Travel Policy

EU member states have procrastinated for days about easing travel restrictions and are split between those reluctant to dissect the progress achieved in suppressing coronavirus, like the Netherlands and countries including Italy, Cyprus and Portugal, that are eager to make the most of summer.

According to EU reports, Greece has indicated it would unilaterally reopen to the US during the lengthy negotiations. Until then, the Greek Government has decided to honor the joint statement.

A reasonable majority in favor of reopening to the 15 chosen countries was reached when the Spanish government moved from being critical about the duration of the list to endorsing it on economic grounds, wary of the second wave in Europe.

The list of countries that should be permitted as per EU includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. The selected countries have been selected based on their infection rate and reliability of data.

At the other edge, a few European nations, including Denmark, are not ready to accept any non-EU foreign tourists. Countries and the approach are likely to continue after July 1st.

Germany, France and a many more of the E.U. Nations want to accept non-European travelers, but are also concerned about countries modifying the safe list or accepting travelers from excluded countries